Guest Post & G!veaway: Stephanie Nelson Author of Deceived (Book 2 in the Gwen Sparks Series)

Title: Deceived
Author: Stephanie Nelson
Series:   Gwen Sparks Series
Price: $2.99 Kindle
Where to buy: Amazon

Giveaway: HERE

Description: The vampire drug, brew, nearly ruined Gwen Sparks’ life. Just when things started to get back to normal between her and Aiden, she is summoned by the North American Witches Council to their central city of Moon.

A war is imminent between vampires and witches, and Gwen’s experiences with brew are being used to fuel the fire. She is about to discover just how powerful she is with the help of the ruggedly handsome Angel of Death and just how far some people will go to get what they want.

Gwen is going to learn exactly what it means to be Deceived.

GUEST POST: A lot of people ask me how I got my start with writing. When I was younger I was not a reader. In fact, I hated books. The thing is, I still bought them because I wanted to love them. I just didn’t understand how people did. As for writing, the only thing I wrote was poems. I had notebooks full of them. At the time I thought they were just a way to get my emotions out. I never thought I’d write a book, nor had I ever considered it.

So, why in the world did I write a book? When the Twilight books hit shelves I could not escape them. Everywhere I looked it was Twilight this and Twilight that. I went to the bookstore and checked them out. There had to be a reason for their popularity, right? I bought the first two books and began reading. Some of you may have mixed feelings about the saga now that it’s been run into the ground with the movies and all of the hype, but at the time they were still just books. I fell in love….with a book! It was the first time I’d ever connected with a book and understood what people meant when they said they’d lose themselves in a story.

After finishing the Twilight saga my obsession was born. I went to the bookstore in search of more paranormal romance stories. I found the Sookie Stackhouse series and my love of books grew. This was a story line for adults, something I could relate to a lot more. I devoured those books, yet I still needed more. After filling my bookshelves and reading every single night, the idea of writing my own book popped into my head.

I thought it’d be so cool to create one of these types of stories. I thought about how I felt reading them and wanted to see if I could create something like that. Could I write something that people connected with? It was a sort of challenge, one that wasn’t easy. I began writing, not knowing the first thing about it. I started so many different stories that my husband would laugh every time he’d hear I had a new one. It was my process though, start one and see where it took me. I learned a little bit from every one I started. After a couple years, I began writing one that I finally connect with. I thought this was it! This was the one that I’d finish. I was almost done (68,000 words written) when Gwen’s story popped into my head. Now I could have ignored it and continued with the nearly completed book, but Gwen would not leave me alone. I abandoned my almost finished novel and began writing the Gwen Sparks books.

Once I was finished with it (seven months later) I was just happy I completed an actual book. I never planned on publishing. I wasn’t that naïve to think that people would actually enjoy my stories. It wasn’t until I joined a writer’s group on Facebook that I began wondering if maybe I should publish. Everyone in the group was there for that specific reason, and their excitement about their own books made me excited.

I took the leap and found an editor, cover artist and critique partners. After everything was done, I uploaded and hit the publish button. I’ve never been so nervous in my entire life. Self-doubt consumed me. I’d just spent seven months writing this book and now I was putting it out into the world to be judged. How terrifying!

Since then I’ve published 2 more novels and an anthology. Each time I hit the publish button my nerves still do cartwheels. The decision to publish though was one of the best one’s I’ve ever made. Through my books I’ve met some fantastic people and learned so much about this new world. Though I’ve moved on from sparkly vampires, I will always be thankful for Stephenie Meyer and her saga. It was the spark that ignited everything.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Stephanie Nelson is a down to earth sort of girl who believes in Karma. You do good things and good things will be returned to you. I chose to look on the bright side rather than the dark. My love of books came later in life. When i was younger i read a few Goosebumps and Fear Street books but they couldn’t hold my attention for very long. It wasn’t until i heard of sparkly vampires that my curiosity got the better of me. Once i was done with the saga i needed more. I rushed out to the bookstores in search of  more paranormal romance books. After devouring book after book, my own stories began to form in my mind. I never considered myself a writer. The only things i’d wrote were poems and that’s a far cry from writing a novel.

Thanks to Stephanie Nelson for stopping by today and for sharing with us her passion for reading and writing. Check her book trailer below!

CLICK HERE TO ENTER GIVEAWAY

Follow Stephanie Nelson on Twitter, Facebook, and visit her Blog

Leave a Reply

