The Dystopian Timeline to The Hunger Games [INFOGRAPHIC] via Goodreads

Is is quite interesting to see where readers are going these days and what our expectations are. We have come to love genres such are paranormal romance & urban fantasy. But is it safe to say that there is a new sub-genre trying to kick the others to the curve. But the question is, will it stick? I mean in the recent years we seen an avalanche of stories and sub-genres being presented to us but not many fall under “wow” factor. We loved The Hunger Games, but have you considered what other books of the same genre measures to? The best way to show this is via this Infographic by Goodreads. I think this is amazing…

Awesome isn’t it. Do you think there is a chance for another Dystopian like series to measure to The Hunger Games?
Do you think Divergent Trilogy will get there?

4 responses to “The Dystopian Timeline to The Hunger Games [INFOGRAPHIC] via Goodreads

  1. Wow, this is kind of awesome. I love seeing how trends rise and fall and can definitely tell dystopian novels are back on the rise again. It’s also interesting to see WHEN they rose – typically at time of political/economical direst. I think Divergent is certainly a great series and can hold its own against The Hunger Games, but I don’t think it’s going to surpass it in means of popularity or sales. THG has been the catalyst in the YA dystopian trend.

    Great post!

    • Hi Candice,
      I agree with you, it is definitely interesting how their popularity increases as our society changes and fall into a political and socio-economic decline. I guess our current situation and status does affect our reading decisions.

      I think THG’s popularity has a lot to do with the movie though I could be wrong. I know a lot of people read the book after learning about the movie. I am a big fan of THG, but I wouldn’t be against another great story that can actually be considered competition. Bring it on Divergent! LOL.

      Let’s see what happens with Divergent, it is worth to keep an eye on it!

      Thanks for following my blog and for stopping by!

      RD

Leave a Reply

