Part 1: Book Tour: Kindred Blood Trilogy by Amber Riley – Interview & Giveaway

I am extremely excited and I am also very honored to have Author Amber Riley here at my blog today. She is the author of the great Kindred Blood Trilogy.

Without further ado, let’s get to know Amber little bit more.

RD: Welcome.  Can you please tell us a bit about yourself?

Amber: Thanks! My name is Amber Riley. I grew up in a little town in Central New York. I am Navy wife and am currently living in Germany with my husband, new son, and cats. I’ve been writing since I was a child.

RD: Please tell us about the book you’d like to discuss.  What’s it about?

Amber: The Flash of a Firefly is the first Kindred Blood novel. It’s about a vampire, Kaden, who moved to New York City to escape his past. He has turned over a new leaf and found his conscience. When some of the vampires he was running from show up, things start to unravel. They’ve come to take him back to the master vampire to resume his position as second-in-command. He has to fight to remain free, but he won’t have to do it alone.

RD: Where did you get the inspiration or idea for this book?

Amber: One night, Kaden just popped into my head. I tailored the entire trilogy around him and his struggles.

RD: How did the title of your book come about?

Amber: The title comes from this quote: “What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the breath of a buffalo in the wintertime. It is the little shadow which runs across the grass and loses itself in the sunset.” –Crowfoot. Life isn’t just about living – for Kaden, it’s about his freedom.

RD:Which of your characters are the easiest and/or the most difficult to write about and why?

Amber: In this novel, Kaden was the most difficult. I had to get deep into his mind and think like a 627-year-old male. It wasn’t easy.

RD: What is your favorite book, who is your favorite author, what is your favorite genre–and why?

Amber: My favorite changes all the time. I would have to say that, right now, it’s Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush series. I read mostly paranormal YA novels now. I’ve read most of the paranormal adult books that appealed to me, so I had to venture over to the teen section.

RD: What are you currently reading?

Amber: I just started Goddess Interrupted by Aimee Carter.

RD: What is the next or current book/project you are working on? When can we expect it?

Amber: I’m in the very early stages of planning a novel involving demons. With a new baby at home, I am hoping to have it finished by the end of the year. He’s keeping me busy!

RD: What would you like people to know about you that we probably don’t know?

Amber: I have never had a sip of alcohol in my entire 25 years simply because I have fun sober. The best drink in the entire world is a can of Red Bull mixed with Dr. Pepper.

RD: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Amber: Just write! Even if your first draft is unreadable, you’ve accomplished a huge goal.

Contact Amber Riley:
Email – Amber_Riley@live.com
Website/Blog – http://kindredbloodtrilogy.blogspot.com/
Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/KindredBloodTrilogy
Twitter – https://twitter.com/#!/AmberR_Riley

~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you Amber for being so gracious and accepting this interview. Amber will be stopping by again on April 16th & April 30th when she will choose a winner from the posts below. Thank you again ! – Bellow you will find a book blurb and an excerpt teaser. Enter giveaway here.

Title:  The Flash of a Firefly – Book 1
Series: Kindred Blood
Author:  Amber Riley
Publisher:  Self
Length:  Approx. 50,000 words
Genre:  YA Paranormal/Fantasy Romance

Where to buy: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Blurb: Trying to put his past behind him, Kaden moves to New York City where he creates a new life for himself. And that isn’t easy, considering the fact that he’s a six-hundred-year-old vampire who hasn’t fed on a human in more than a century. Unfortunately, the past isn’t something you can always escape from. When old enemies resurface, they come with a message. His master wants him back and refusing isn’t an option.  Confronted with losing both his freedom, as well as the human that has captivated him, Kaden struggles to hold onto his humanity while controlling his darker side. He knows the showdown is inevitable. He must find a way to stand his ground.

EXCERPT:

Then, a hundred feet away, two figures slowed their pace to match mine. I clenched my jaw and forced my feet to keep moving forward. I hadn’t been looking forward to this day. I knew it would come sooner or later. I just wished that I had listened to my gut instinct in the first place.

Well, there was no going back now. I was within reach of them, and my blood was boiling under my skin.

“What are you doing here?” I snarled.  “It’s good to see you too, Kaden.”

Her hair tumbled down her back, and her jaw set as she forced her full red lips into a big smile. It was a face I hadn’t seen in over two centuries, one I could have gone a thousand lifetimes without seeing again.

“What are you doing here?” I repeated. “Would you treat your own sister so coldly after all this time?” she asked in a sickeningly sweet voice.

“You’re no relation to me,” I growled through gritted teeth.

She smiled sarcastically. “We’ve come to take you home.”

Enter giveaway here.

13 responses to “Part 1: Book Tour: Kindred Blood Trilogy by Amber Riley – Interview & Giveaway

  1. Oh wow, this looks really interesting. I didn’t read the excerpt because I want to read the whole book. lol
    Lmackesy at gmail dot com

  2. Pingback: Part 2: Book Tour: Kindred Blood Trilogy by Amber Riley – Interview & Giveaway « ReadingDiva's Blog·

  3. Pingback: Part 3: Book Tour: Kindred Blood Trilogy by Amber Riley – Interview & Giveaway « ReadingDiva's Blog·

Leave a Reply

