Genre Crossover: Keith Weaver’s (@drmweave2501) Latest Book – Nebulous (World of Nebulous). YA Fantasy

Author Keith Weaver made the jump; he has crossover to another genre. His first published book called The Nefarious: Price of Shadow – is an intriguing, mysterious and a gore free horror book that develops in present time but it brings the mystery and horror of the past.

His latest work Nebulous published in November 2011 has received great reviews, all 5 stars. I particularly love Keith’s writing style. He is very imaginative, creative and a great story-teller.  Keith Weaver’s recent genre crossover is well received. Let’s see what’s behind this move.

RD- Welcome.  Can you please tell us a bit about yourself?

KW– Thank you for having me here today.  I am a husband, father of two boys and live with my family in Bettendorf, IA.  I’m always on the go; accountant by day and either working out or following my kids around to something at night.  I love music, movies, sports and of course books!

RD – Please tell us about the book you’d like to discuss.  What’s it about?

KW- Nebulous is a YA fantasy story, my first in this genre.  Although not my first book, I decided to turn my writing attention to fantasy, knowing that’s where I belong and where my passion is.  The book is about a 10-year old boy who sees a dark figure take his younger brother in the middle of the night, which he follows and ends up in a magical world called Nebulous.  From there, the boy, Ty, is faced with the difficult task of rescuing his brother from the evil Queen Joro before it’s too late.  Along the way, he encounters wondrous creatures, magical beings and confronts his own self-doubt.  It’s more than just a fantasy tale with strange characters, it really is a human interest story about the love and bond between two brothers that propels them through near impossible situations.

RD – Where did you get the inspiration or idea for this book?

KW – I always wanted to write YA fantasy, ever since I was a kid.  The first book I fell in love with was Norton Juster’s The Phantom Tollbooth.  From there, I went on to read many more books that resonated with me like Alice In Wonderland and The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.  The inspiration, though, really came from my boys.  I took a lot of things that they like and incorporated that into a story idea. My 7-year old Keaton wrote a 4 page story in Kindergarten about a roller coaster derailing into a river, being attacked by a shark and rescued by a crane, how can something like that not inspire me???

RD – How did the title of your book come about?

KW –  I was looking for a strong word that I could use to name the place in my book, and something that would be a constant throughout the series.  I found Nebulous which I loved right away, and the meaning lacking definitive form or limits was perfect, as there are no limits on what can happen there in my eyes.

RD – Which of your characters are the easiest and/or the most difficult to write about and why?

KW – The boys to me were the hardest.  They are not a carbon copy of my own, but I tried to instill some of their personalities into them to bring some depth to their characters.  I wanted Ty mostly to be the real backbone of the story, and bringing that realistic feeling to a work of fantasy fiction wasn’t easy.  The rest of the characters were the easiest, they were ideas I came up with and were just plain fun to create, not having any real limitations with them.

RD – How many hours a day do you devote to writing? Do you have a set routine or do you write when the mood strikes?

KW –  I’ve been more of a swing from the hip type of guy, so my writing style is very much similar.  When writing, I don’t give myself strict deadlines or say I have to do this much every day or every week.  If life calls and I’m busy, I’m okay stepping away for a few days.  Often, that gives me the opportunity to get a fresh perspective on where I’m going with the story.  But, if the mood strikes, I might write every day for a week or month.  I guess I would say I don’t pressure myself, sometimes I don’t like what comes out when I do.

Now that we know what inspired Keith to write Nebulous,
let’s enjoy the excerpt below.

Excerpt

The boy shifted his way through the forest for some time, not really having a plan of action, just trying to navigate the darkness. He couldn’t believe how the sun couldn’t penetrate through the forest at all. In fact, the only light at all seemed to be a sort of moonlight, although there was no evidence of any moon in this world. The boy figured this must be some of the magic of the realm again. The forest was dark, but it wasn’t quiet. Ty could hear whispers and creepy sounds all around,
as if the forest was in fact alive.

Ty came upon a thick patch of grass and was surprised at how well it was growing in the darkness. He started to walk through the grass, and it disappeared under his feet. The boy paused for a few moments thinking he was imagining things, but the grass was gone. He then remembered what he was told about spirits living in everything in the forest, and he figured maybe the grass spirits were the shy ones that he heard of.

He continued on till he heard a rumbling sound behind him. Ty turned to look, but in the darkness couldn’t see much past his own face. The sound grew louder, and something was getting closer to him. He winced to try and see what it was, and then he saw it. There was a rock as big as a shopping cart rumbling towards him. This must be a vengeful spirit, so Ty turned and ran. He kept going as fast as he could, not really knowing what he might run into. The sound of the rock was getting closer, and the boy thought he actually heard a chuckling sound. Before it got to him, he managed to narrowly run between two large trees, so he stopped. Sure enough, the rock smashed against one of the trees, and disappeared like the grass had just before.

“Ouch!”

Ty froze dead in his tracks; he even tried to hold his breath so he wouldn’t make a sound. He was alone, as far as he knew.
What in the world had just said ouch?

Where to buy: Amazon
Where to find Keith Weaver
Facebook | Twitter | Website

Which of your favorite authors would you like to see
crossing over to another genre?

3 responses to “Genre Crossover: Keith Weaver’s (@drmweave2501) Latest Book – Nebulous (World of Nebulous). YA Fantasy

  1. Pingback: My Masterpiece on hold « Writing = Passion·

  2. Pingback: Homepage·

  3. Pingback: audio & lyrics: A real fantasy (“I’m Justified!”) « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci·

Leave a Reply

