Mount Up by @MelissaEcker – Dual Review (One Book 2 Ladies)

Title: Mount Up
Author: Melissa Ecker
Series: Memory Grove
Where to buy: Amazon

One book – 2 Reviews

Review by ReadingDiva Review by Vicky
Mount up is a steamy, tantalizing, erotic and playful romance between Natalie Shea and Luke Reilly.Natalie is a young doctor who moved to Arkansas to complete her residency at Little Rock Memorial Hospital after finishing medical school at UCLA.When Natalie was informed that there was an incoming rodeo injury she couldn’t help herself but think why people would put themselves in such dangerous situations. What she didn’t know was that soon she would meet the man who would totally change her life in more than one way.Luke Reilly is your typical cowboy. He is charming, sexy and knows how to ride.

He has been in the business since he was a young kid. He is a popular guy, loved by his family and friends and desired by all the women in town. When Reilly gets into an accident while at the rodeo he is brought to the ER where Natalie is a doctor.  The chemistry between them is instant though Natalie fights to ignore it Luke has no shame in showing his interest in her. There is much more to Luke than the size of his belt buckle.Luke isn’t the type of man Natalie is usually attracted to, but to her surprise her body reaction to his sex-appeal said otherwise.  The story develops easily and fast. The characters are fun, sexy and sexual.  Melissa Ecker certainly has a way with words, the sex is steamy, and the conversations feel real. The story is short, however it is well thought and developed.


My response:
 I must warm you; this is NOT a book you want to read while at work.  I made the mistake of pulling this one out to read while slacking in my office. Boy was that a mistake. The sex in this book is quite explicit, and though I am pretty good at masking reactions I couldn’t help myself but to let out a few giggles here and there. The phrase “Save a horse, Ride a cowboy” couldn’t be more true to this read.  I couldn’t stop laughing when a funny thought popped in my head, for some reason I “pictured” Luke yelling “Yeeehaaaaw” while he was having sex. So girls, if you like it short, hot and sweet this is the book for you.  Hey Vicky, I hope you weren’t reading this one at work. LOL

Great read it totally deserves
4 ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥
  (hearts).

Natalie is a doctor at the hospital when a cocky bull rider is brought in after having a fall and a near miss trampling. Every nurse in the ER wants the opportunity to look after this guy and can’t believe the Natalie doesn’t even know who he is.Natalie on the other hand is unimpressed even if she does admire the packaging.Even though he’s in pain, Luke still tries to flirt with the doctor but with no obvious success. When he finds her on the side of the road after she’s run her car into a ditch, he recognizes her straight away and takes her home with him so she can get out of the storm.

The sex is rough and sort of blindsided me to start with as I wasn’t expecting it. I didn’t anticipate Natalie’s reaction to Luke either as she didn’t seem like someone would like to be domineered and manhandled. Even though it was unexpected it didn’t detract from how hot it was at all!As they spend more time together their relationship continues to develop and we get to experience the ups and downs right along with them. The relationship is fiery but at the same time sweet. Their exchanges both in and out of the bedroom are well written and realistic and as other situations arise the reactions seem genuine and right for the characters. This is an enjoyable well written read and I’m intrigued to read more by Ms Ecker.

My responses:  Giggling along with a book is always a good sign to me. If those two continued to carry on like that there would be a lot of horses saved ;-). What big hands that man must have! My god, they must be huge to be able to do what he does with them! I have a funny image of Natalie as Red Riding Hood talking to Dave Grohl (in the video for Everlong) like she does to the wolf.

Good read I give it 3½ ♥ ♥ ♥
(hearts)

9 responses to “Mount Up by @MelissaEcker – Dual Review (One Book 2 Ladies)

  1. Hi Reading Diva!

    I see that you like PRG’s Dual Reviews so much that you have incorporated the concept into your own blog now. I’m glad that you enjoy them!

    Best wishes ~ Melanie Nowak
    Vice President
    ParanormalRomanceGuild.com

    • Thanks Melanie for stopping by, YES!! I loved the concept and I “stole” the idea from you guys 🙂 (I hope you do not mind). It gives my friend Vicky and I the chance to share our ideas as well as sort of understand each other’s taste in books.

      Thanks for the comment!
      RD

  2. Well they say imitation is the best form of flattery! Glad you liked our idea so much that you incorporated it as well! There are certainly plenty of great books out there for us all to review!

    Hey…wouldn’t it be a hoot if the Paranormal Romance Guild and Reading Diva teamed up and did a combined “Dual Review”? Talk about giving readers an in depth look into a story!

    Things that make you go, hmmm…

    Marianne Morea
    President
    http://www.paranormalromanceguild.com/

    • Hi Marianne,

      That would be awesome and an honored. I thought about contacting a few bloggers but I wasn’t sure how to go about it. I would love to sort of partner up with PRG and do the dual review. I am IN!

      Thanks so much for stopping by!
      You guys rock!
      RD

  3. Hi Reading Diva,

    I am the Senior Reviewer and Review Chair Person at the Paranormal Romance Guild. I am being deluged by e mails today at work with readers and authors writing to inform me that you thought my idea was a good one…!!!!

    I am thrilled you liked my idea and and would also love to Duel a Dual with you….What do you think????
    contact me at prg.booksonreview@gmail.com

    Gloria Lakritz.

  4. Pingback: URL·

Leave a Reply

