Will 2012 Be The Year Of Great Films?

In recent years we have seen an array of great and not so great movies brought to us by Hollywood. We have seen a good share of remake as well. This is my list of the most anticipated movies for 2012:

“Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance,” riding into theaters February 17, 2012! – though I still have mixed feelings about the first installment of this movie I am hoping Nicolas Cage do this film some justice. One can only hope!

“John Carter” in Theaters March 9, 2012! – I am looking forward to watching this comic book adaptation to film. We have seen other great work done such as Iron Man, Spiderman just to name a few. The film looks promising, I have high expectations!

“The Hunger Games” in theaters March 23 2012! – For anyone who has read the story (series) and hope to see it in the big screen, the wait is over. I am eager to watching it, I have faith this is going to be one of the best adaptations of 2012, they have gathered a very good cast of young talent. I can’t wait.

“Marvel’s The Avengers”, in theaters May 4, 2012. What can I say, I am a fan! Who doesn’t love Robert Downie Jr. as Iron Man. I am sure this is going to be a hit once it comes out in May. The preamble to the Avengers and the man responsible for making it work.

“Men In Black 3” 25 May 2012! – Will Smith is “the man”, he is able to add the spark necessary to make the MIB movies a lot more fun. Looking forward to seeing the guys in their black suit kicking alien’s ass.

“The Amazing Spider-Man,” swinging into theaters July 3, 2012! – I admit, I am a die-hard fan of the Spiderman franchise. The movies, the T-shirts, the statues anything Spiderman I love. However, I am iffy about this film, I am not a fan of Andrew Garfield. I guess I should give the guy a break and wait for the movie to judge but I can’t see to get over it.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey December 14, 2012

J.R.R fans and Lord of The Ring fans have waited long enough for this.

8 responses to “Will 2012 Be The Year Of Great Films?

  1. I like your list hon, but I am not sure about Ghost Rider. Nicolas Cage was one of the reasons I didn’t like the first one LOL! The trailer does look cool though and given the new I saw, there is definitely a plot . So I hope they learned their lesson from the first one. I am so looking forward to The Hunger Games, just finished the book and I am so floored. That was brilliant. Can’t wait for The Avengers, I really love Loki, he is a great villain. The guy they chose to play him is such a great actor. And I am also a Robert Downey Jr. fan, the man is I hope Men in Black 3 will be better than 2 and I am still unsure of rebooting the Spiderman franchise. Doesn’t make sense to me at all, I do like Andrew Garfield, really impressed me in the Social Network. But I loved the one with Tobey Macguire, I don;t get the reason of going further back and giving it a high school setting 😦 Still, I will watch it. Great post, thank you hon 🙂

    • Hollywood is not longer keeping the story line behind comic books in their adaptation to the big screen. I am at a loss when it comes to the reasons why all the remakes and changes to the old stories. I guess like a good fan I just need to keep up with the changes LOL.

  2. It is not that, Hollywood just doesn’t care for classics. They are so focused on marketing more to younger crowds, which is why they feel the need to remake everything to get them involved. It makes no sense. Why not just have a re-release, no they remake everything freaking thing. I am a huge fan of the Spiderman franchise even with the disappointment of part 3, I just don’t get this. Still, I can’t say I didn’t like the trailer, it does look interesting. But I am with you, lets roll with it and see what they do. We are looking forward while they are the ones looking back LOL!

  3. I’m looking forward to The Hobbit most of all. However, I wouldn’t be opposed to seeing G.I. Joe 2 or Wrath of the Titans in theaters. I’ll have to look and see what else is coming out.

  4. Bookish Hobbit, I agree.

    The Hobbit is probably the most anticipated film for LOTR fans and J.R.R. fans in general. I wish it was tomorrow LOL. I have added the trailer now that it is finally available!

    Thanks for the comment!

  5. The one I only recently heard about that excites me the most is Men in Black 3…when I saw the trailer I got so excited! Rather than having to hunt people up to watch a sci-fi movie with me, I think I may end up seeing that one more than once because sooo many people I know willw ant to watch it.

Leave a Reply

